Jiggin for Deepwater Grouper - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 03-04-2011, 05:03 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Jiggin for Deepwater Grouper

Has anyone tried it? We are thinking of putting together a trip out of Indian Pass since everything else is closed. My buddy has some electric reels, but I'd like to try jiggin for them if its possible. I've seen a youtube video of some guys jigging Snowys in NC (I think?) . He's talking about fishing 300-600ft, which I've never done before even electric gear. What would I need? I've been wanting to put together a heavier jiggin setup than I have now and am looking a trinidad 40n. Would that work with a 300-400 gram rod? What size and type of jigs would you use? Do you need the fancy ones or will cheaper AJ jigs work? Thanks!
JT

* I heard Recess is the man with plan on this forum*
The Business is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2011, 05:11 PM   #2
Grouper

the trinidad setup will be fine, whatever jigs you use make sure they have some glow to em. its dark down there. get em heavy to beat the current down, i always just use slow bumps off the bottom for grouper, you'll find out pretty quick if they are hungry or not. good luck!
bombtosser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2011, 05:36 PM   #3
Blue Marlin

Talk to Recess on the gcfc, he isnt on here anymore. They have any info you need.
Pinksnappertrapper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2011, 05:47 PM   #4
Squid technician
Grand Slam

There are plenty of people who can help you with this.