Help Bottom Fishing - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 07-12-2011, 05:59 PM   #1
Grouper

Default Help Bottom Fishing

I'm new to trying to anchor up on a spot and bottom fishing. I was having a lot of issues last weekend and headed back down this weekend with a plan. My problem last weekend was mainly due the strong currents. I tried to figure out which way the current was moving and would try to anchor and drift on to the spot. By the time my anchor dug in and rope got tight I didn't know if I was on it or not. I tried marking the spot with small marker and the current drug it off. My plan for next week is to tie a rope to a 5lb mushroom anchor with just enough rope to get to the surface. Then tie a big balloon to the top of the rope. This will surely hold and it will give me a good idea of which way the current is going and let me practice dropping the anchor and and drifting back onto the spot. Is this a good idea or overkill?

Next question... Bait, I was using squid and only caught a mangrove or lane snapper. Should I try to catch pin fish for bait? I'm only a few miles off shore in about 40ft of water.

Next.... Chum, would it be a good idea to tie a chum bag to the 5lb anchor and send it down? or use one on the surface? If so, should I just by a frozen block of chum?

Next... I saw big schools of fish swimming near the surface. I think they were spade. How can you get them to bite and are they good to eat?
Jighead is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Jiggin Finatic
Grand Slam

http://www.americanbandit.com/cart/i...d24464ea8c3bd2
II Chronicles 7:14
if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.