Drag setting for Snapper Vs Jack - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 04-06-2011, 08:36 PM   #1
Mingo

Default Drag setting for Snapper Vs Jack

I am new to the bottom fishing game and have some questions.

What do you guys set your drag at for snapper and then for jacks?

I have read 20 to 25 lbs but then some people talk of using 20lbs leaders for snapper so they cant be using 20 lbs line and having a very high drag.

How long of a leader and what size hook for live bait fishing for jacks. I have good access to crokers but read alot of you guys like pin fish. Are pin fish that much better or just easier to obtain.

Thanks Joe
SmokenJoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2011, 09:27 PM   #2
Snapper

I use about 10lbs of drag on my 30#gear, 16-18lbs on 50lb, 20-25lb on 80lb. This is fishing snapper, grouper and AJ's. 25lbs of drag on stand up gear is a lot to control for smaller build people... something to think about if you are smaller build. As far as leader size, when I go for AJ's, I like to use 80-130# leader about 6-8 ft long depending on structure and I prefer using either blue runners or pin fish because they stay alive and frisky 150ft down. Hope that helps, it works for me
guam_bomb80 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 10:13 PM   #3
Kim
Blue Marlin

Unless you're fishing for Grouper 10 pounds of drag is a good place to start. Then all you have to do is adjust your drag as needed.

Last edited by Kim; 04-10-2011 at 08:39 PM.
Kim is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2011, 11:19 PM   #4
Sailfish

Send a message via AIM to amarcafina Send a message via MSN to amarcafina

It depends on if you're gonna fish for 5lb snapper or 30 lb'er as to leader size and drag pressure. Which should be 1/3 of your line # .