Banax vs Tanacom - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 05-18-2018, 10:17 PM   #1
Snapper

Default Banax vs Tanacom

I am looking to buy a deep drop rig and doing some research. It seems most folks like the Tanacom 1000 but I keep reading(THT mostly) the Banax is better in a side by side comparison.
The Tanacom spoiled with Dendoh is about $800 at most places online. Banax is a bit more based off prices. I have found.

I am new to this so I am looking to learn. What do y’all say. Tanacom, Banax, Both?
Walton County is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-19-2018, 07:39 AM   #2
Trigger

Subscribed. I don’t have any hands on experience with a banax, so I’m all ears. I have used a tanacom on several difference occasions, and they work great for getting groceries, but they aren’t going to set any speed records due to the spool being pretty small. They don’t hold a ton of line, but definitely enough to get the job done. Price point is hard to beat for getting in the game. Hopefully others will chime in regarding the banax
Old 05-19-2018, 07:45 AM   #3
Sailfish

Go with the Daiwa, easier for parts and service. Banax is a good reel but if you have issues then that could be an issue.
tbaxl is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-19-2018, 08:46 AM   #4
Snapper

I did the research and bought the Banax. If you go on the Frigate Sales website there is a video where he tears both reels apart and shows you the differences and why the banax is a better built reel. From what I gather Banax used to build the reels for daiwa. As for service, Frigate sales services them but rarely has one come back in for any issues. I bought the reel, rod, line everything from Frigate sales. I haven't used it yet but I feel like I bought the right setup based on the research I did.