AJ help - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 02-23-2011, 12:50 PM   #1
Snapper

Default AJ help

I'm a comlete newbie - but just bought a 23 ft CC and I want to catch more than just snapper. I've uploaded all the public Alabama spots to my gps. I would also really like to bow up on some AJ's as well. So a couple of questions for you old pros.

1) Can you catch AJ's on tanks/pyramids on public spots?
2) Is "vertical relief" the vital element to an AJ spot?
3) How do you rig? I plan on using hard tails, and other assorted live goodies for bait...but what lb test leader/hook size?
4) Is it just a matter of getting your bait well above the wreck to maximize the change of getting an AJ and decreasing the chance of an endangered red snapper bite?
Orangebeach28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-23-2011, 01:44 PM   #2
White Marlin

I've always had the best luck in deeper water (150' +) well above structure using the biggest live bait I could find. Of course the last time I tried that last year I caught the biggest Red Snapper I've ever caught and I've been fishing here for over 18 years. Good luck, there should be some guys that chime in here I would hope.
69Viking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Sailfish

Yes you can catch AJ on public spots, matter of fact since AJ like large structure, public spots can be the best, To get into the larger AJs you need to get into some deeper water, like the Marathon or Swingle Reefs or any of the rigs to the west in water over 200'. Rigs like the 252s and surrounding rigs can be a sure thing for large AJs.