Advice on overnight offshore fishing trip? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A
Register Fishing Photos FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Advertise

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By FenderBender
  • 1 Post By FenderBender
  • 1 Post By JD7.62

Old 06-26-2018, 06:22 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Advice on overnight offshore fishing trip?

I’m new to offshore fishing and need advice on what most people do when planning an overnight trip. I will be vacationing near Pensacola and bringing my 30’ CC. I am wanting to do some trolling and bottom fishing around the Petronius, Horn, Ram Powell etc. Any advice on how most people do a trip like this? Such as when and where to troll and/or bottom fish and how to maximize the time. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
derik_baylon10 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2018, 06:50 PM   #2
eating tasty
White Marlin

Do you have experience tuna fishing? Sword fishing? Deep dropping? There are so many things you can do on a trip like that. It's more than anyone can type up on the internet, you just need to take someone (me! I have deep drop numbers! Haha) with you. Or anyone on this forum with numbers and experience.

The absolute best would be to hire a pro to run your boat, there is a captain here who posts fairly frequently, Capt Delynn. Not sure what he charges, but it would be the difference in absolutely crushing every species of fish vs. potentially burning 200 gallons of fuel with nothing to show.