Suggestions on new wading light - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Flounder Gigging

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By low tide

Old 08-23-2018, 06:27 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Suggestions on new wading light

I'm fairly new to gigging. I started last year with minimal luck. Like anything I started cheap. I picked up a propane light from Walmart and have used it the few times I've gone.

So last night I tried my luck around Fort Morgan and Orange Beach. It seemed to be a great night with the northeast wind. The gulf was crystal clear. I went most of the night and never saw the first flounder. At around 2 I ran into another guy gigging with submersible LED lights and he had 3 fish and told me he had missed plenty more. At this point I got to thinking maybe I had walked past a few fish and never saw them.

Then a short while later I kicked a rather large ray up that I never even saw. I'm not sure if my eye sight is getting worse or what, but I always make it a point to only go where I can see 100% and I walk very slow. At that point for my safety I decided I should probably invest in a better light.

So I'm open to any suggestions. I would prefer something with a self contained battery and under $100, but like I said I'm open to any suggestions.
bigtee likes this.
low tide is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2018, 02:55 AM   #2
White Marlin

Jerry's led lights Google them.
cody&ryand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2018, 08:57 AM   #3
Grouper

I second Jerry's.
etrade92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-27-2018, 08:38 PM   #4
Great White Buffalo
Ruby Red Lip

Quote:
Originally Posted by low tide View Post