new to flounder giging could use some advice - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Flounder Gigging

Old 05-27-2011, 08:37 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default new to flounder giging could use some advice

Hey all I am brand new to flounder giging and havent had much luck recently on my own so I figured I would come here for advice. I am wading for flounder and have built some under water led lights similar to banjos. I have been going right at dusk but have no idea how deep or shallow to go or even where to go. I went up and down johnsons beach on the bay side and didnt see a single one. The only luck I have had has been at fort pickens were I gigged my first flounder which got me hooked. any help as to where are some good spots to wade for flounder or what I should be looking for would be awesome. thxs
dpayter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
Mingo

Good day , I am also new to wading and learning more and more as I go . I have worked all the area u have also with slim luck . Most of the fish I have walked on has been buried less then 5 feet away from shore . Wade gigging is a very time consuming/tiring sport but fun when u find fish , just keep walking till u find tracks and the fish will be near . Johnson beach sound from my experience has less quantity of fish but they are there u just have to work ur ass off for them . Fort pickens is a great places to gig but in the fall only bad thing is there are lots of boats to compete with try going on weekdays when less boats are out . Me and my buddy banjo went last night walked 6 miles and ended up with seven fish . One hell of a walk but worth the 7 fish . GL and don't give up . Also boat ramps are good checkpoints try gigging around those area and boat docks .
fulish850 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2011, 02:36 PM   #3
Duerwood Willis
Sailfish