lights - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Flounder Gigging

Old 07-29-2008, 11:19 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default lights

Well I have been gigging flounder for about 40 years and I have never used the hps lights yall are talking about.. I thought that you just couldnt get any better than 4 starfire underwater lights so you can see when there is a breeze blowing and muddy water, You guys think these lights are that much better.. I really dont see anyone with them that much where I fish and you guys are making me want to try some of these.. I already have a small gen but its only a 1600 watt coleman...I guess I just wanna know from someone who has tried all the different types..we used to build a lighter knot fire on a platform at the front of the boat lol. Then went to regular coleman lanterns and then the top of the line kerosene lanterns, Someone tell me these are superior to underwater so I can work some more...lol
mniterambler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2008, 11:36 AM   #2
White Marlin

Default RE: lights

I have gigging ever since I was old enough to walk and have pretty much seen or used every setup imaginable. I have walked with the dish pan style lanterns, used the old style 1000 lumen bulbs for years and even tried the starfires you mentioned. None can even hold a candle to a good HPS setup, literally. Before I got mine I used halos and thought they were the ticket. Now I don't see how I seen the fish that I did!!! Just make sure you make the right decisions to start with to avoid any headaches!!!:banghead

www.litethenitecharters.com
Five Prongs Of Fury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2008, 02:17 PM   #3
Cigar Minnow