fwiw- hps lights came in......... - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Flounder Gigging

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 11:53 AM   #1
bbb
Senior Member
Mingo
 
bbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 110
Default fwiw- hps lights came in.........

and those suckersput out some light.

Imade a couple U brackets for them and mounted 2 on the bow and pointed them down towards the ground. Had to turn them off because alot of indirect light was hitting my neighbors house 50 yards away.

I still have 4 more lights to mount but really don't think I'll need but 2 more. I got the capacitors coming so I'll probably just mount a total of 4 lights and wait to mount the last 2 after I try them out.

With the honda on eco-throttle, when I plugged in 2 halogens it would cycle the rpms up. With the 2 hps lights, I did not hear the Honda cycle up at all.

One thing for sure, they should throw alot of extra light on the shoreline to help with navigation.
__________________
https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=4476&dateline=1300733  461
bbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2008, 01:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 5,572
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

Pix's BBB Pix's.



Where did you get these?
__________________
[ Marine - Doesn't your outboard deserve the BEST?
X-Shark is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 01:37 PM   #3
bbb
Senior Member
Mingo
 
bbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 110
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

They are the E-conolights 150w.I'llsee if I can take a pictureto show the light outputof the hps vs thehalogens.
__________________
https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=4476&dateline=1300733  461
bbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2008, 03:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
Mingo
 
wareagle22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cantonment
Posts: 188
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

Are you going to install the capacitor in the fixture or build a remote ballast box? I have 6 of these lights ordered with capacitors and a enclosure to build a remote box to mount under my deck. I want to get all the weight out of the fixture so it's not so rough on them running across the bay. After doing A LOT of research, I can't wait to get mine installed and see just how much better they are than the metal halides that I have now!!!!
wareagle22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 04:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 5,572
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

I ordered 4- E-conolights 150w today. Then I ordered 4- 55uf Caps to install in them.



For those that don't know, this will make them start quicker and be more efficient.



http://yhst-17357477413172.stores.ya...afor250wa.html



Yes I know it says it's for a 250W HPS. Extensive testing has been done and the 14uf Caps for the 150w units are not as efficient.



That was a extra $54



The original lights that I picked are back ordered for 2 months.










__________________
[ Marine - Doesn't your outboard deserve the BEST?
X-Shark is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 04:47 PM   #6
bbb
Senior Member
Mingo
 
bbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 110
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

I'm gonna leave the guts inside the lights for right now andziptie the capacitors to the light frame. Running just 4 of these lights and nothing else, I don't see a need for the capacitors. btw I boughtsix of the 55 capacitors.

I'll take my extra 2 lights, take the guts out and start working on the box with them.

I understand almost everything about the box, except the grounding wire coming out of the light fixtures. Where does this go?

__________________
https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=4476&dateline=1300733  461
bbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 05:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 5,572
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

Well using a 3 conductor wire cord it goes to the GND wire. Or your hook it to the case of the light and also hook the GND from the 3 wire cord to that point.





Still waiting on pixs.
__________________
[ Marine - Doesn't your outboard deserve the BEST?
X-Shark is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 05:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
Mingo
 
wareagle22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cantonment
Posts: 188
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

As X-Shark said, the 3rd wire is to ground the light. You NEED to hook this up to the ground from the generator. My lights just came in and I tested one of them without the capacitor and it pulled 3.4 amps. If the cap will drop the amperage back to about 1.7, that will about 50% load on your generator (EU2000??). I am building my remote box as we speak, just waiting on caps now......
wareagle22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 07:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
Trigger
 
ishmel407's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dauphin Island
Posts: 280
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

Once you find out about the difference between the HPS and the metal halide light will you let me know. I have the metal halides and I was wodering if the HPS are better. The metal halide I have is super brite. I have a 400 watt metal halide and it is almost to bright. Just let me know which ones you like better
ishmel407 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2008, 08:21 PM   #10
Member
Ruby Red Lip
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alabaster, Al
Posts: 96
Default RE: fwiw- hps lights came in.........

Is the reason for the capacitors to lower amp draw on initial start up so the EU2000 will not trip its own circuit breaker or is the capacitor to lower overall amp draw while running and therefore reducing fuel consumption with less demand from the generator?
Triple Threat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.