Do I have enough spare amps? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Flounder Gigging

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 10:00 AM   #1
bbb
Senior Member
Mingo
 
bbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 110
Default Do I have enough spare amps?

Alright I have the honda 2000 running 6 hps lights with the 55 capacitors. I have a 12v trolling motor on the front of the boat. Can I runthe battery cables from the 12v outlet on the generator to the trolling motor battery?

It says theoutput on the plug is 8amps.
__________________
https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=4476&dateline=1300733  461
bbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2008, 10:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
White Marlin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pace
Posts: 2,706
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

Hmmm.... good question! I'm no expert, and can't help w/the total amps question, but my guess is it could possibly boil the battery (overcharge). It'd be OK if you first partially ran it down, but a meter would be a good safety measure and let you know the state of the battery (I had a Minn Kota TM with a built in meter on my last boat). Do you have an onboard charger? If you could run that off the 110 outlet, I'd be more confident doing it that way, as those chargers (Guest, Minn Kota, etc.) have the built in automatic protection curcuitry, plus if you are near full charge, you won't be pulling much power. I'm curious to hear other (more knowledgible) opinions! Let us know what you decide on and how it works!
Flounderpounder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 12:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
FlounderAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cantonment, FL
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to FlounderAssassin
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

do you know how many amps you are pulling once the lights heat up??? and do you know how many amps the 12v socket on your generator puts out? when i first switched to generator and halogens i wanted to be able to charge my TM battery because it would only last about 3 hrs with a full charge. but instead of doing that i went a different route. the battery i had was getting weak (old) so i replaced it with 2 batteries. hooked up series (i believe that is correct...but im always getting series/parrell mixed up so correct me if im wrong) where i have 2 batteries but still only putting out 12v. TM runs just as strong after 4-5 hrs of trolling as it does when i first start out.
FlounderAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2008, 12:10 PM   #4
Praedator
Grand Slam
 
Telum Pisces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Out There
Posts: 9,768
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

Quote:
FlounderAssassin (8/5/2008)do you know how many amps you are pulling once the lights heat up??? and do you know how many amps the 12v socket on your generator puts out? when i first switched to generator and halogens i wanted to be able to charge my TM battery because it would only last about 3 hrs with a full charge. but instead of doing that i went a different route. the battery i had was getting weak (old) so i replaced it with 2 batteries. hooked up series (i believe that is correct...but im always getting series/parrell mixed up so correct me if im wrong) where i have 2 batteries but still only putting out 12v. TM runs just as strong after 4-5 hrs of trolling as it does when i first start out.
Correction below.:letsdrink

Parallel = double the Amps, same voltage

Series = Double the voltage, same Amps
Telum Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 12:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
FlounderAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cantonment, FL
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to FlounderAssassin
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

Quote:
Telum Piscis (8/5/2008)
Quote:
FlounderAssassin (8/5/2008)do you know how many amps you are pulling once the lights heat up??? and do you know how many amps the 12v socket on your generator puts out? when i first switched to generator and halogens i wanted to be able to charge my TM battery because it would only last about 3 hrs with a full charge. but instead of doing that i went a different route. the battery i had was getting weak (old) so i replaced it with 2 batteries. hooked up series (i believe that is correct...but im always getting series/parrell mixed up so correct me if im wrong) where i have 2 batteries but still only putting out 12v. TM runs just as strong after 4-5 hrs of trolling as it does when i first start out.
Correction below.:letsdrink

Parallel = double the Amps, same voltage

Series = Double the voltage, same Amps
see...i knew i would get it backwords! :banghead oh well atleast i hooked it up right! :letsdrink
FlounderAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 12:39 PM   #6
bbb
Senior Member
Mingo
 
bbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 110
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

Well I do have a 2/10/50 amp charger I can hook up from the generator. Just didn't want anymore trip and fall devices in the bottom of the boat.
__________________
https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=4476&dateline=1300733  461
bbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 12:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 5,573
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

A trolling motor can draw 50amps. You can burn the generator up.



I run my 12V TM with 2-GP29's in parallel. It also goes thru a 50amp CB to the TM.






__________________
[ Marine - Doesn't your outboard deserve the BEST?
X-Shark is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 11:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cantonment, Florida.
Posts: 1,519
Send a message via MSN to Midnight Rider
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

Somthing to think about!!!!! I have the honda 1000 watt on my boat. The owners manual says anytime you are using the plug for charging batteries you need to turn the switch on the generator from auto idle to manual idle. Thus you will be listening to your generator run balls to the wall all night. I did as Flounder Assassin did and have 2 batteries dedicated for the trolling motor.
Midnight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2008, 03:17 AM   #9
Duerwood Willis
Sailfish
 
Gnwdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 1,749
Default RE: Do I have enough spare amps?

I can't speak on the amps, but I run a 2 bank 10 amp on board charger all the time and it does not make a noticable difference on the generator.
Gnwdad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.