Need help with fish ID - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing Reports

Old 06-14-2008, 12:05 PM   #1
Grouper

Default Need help with fish ID

Howdy folks, I'm still kind of new to this surf fishing stuff although I've been going every weekend for the past month or so. Have mainly caught ladys, cats and blues. Did catch one small redfish and a few whiting. Today I fished past the last lot past Portofino and caught 7-8 ladys, 5 blues and this. Is it a Pomp or a Jack? Thanks all.

FishnGator is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2008, 12:10 PM   #2
Snapper

Default RE: Need help with fish ID

It's a pompano, which is in the jack family by the way. Super eating.
Nitzey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 12:18 PM   #3
Grouper

Awesome! I guess now I can say that I caught my first Pomp. It was a little over 18 inches by the way. Guess I'm back out there tomorrow morning. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2008, 12:29 PM   #4
Cigar Minnow

What did you catch them on? I am coming down next week. Thanks for any help.
Bamamedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 08:09 PM   #5
Grouper

To tell you the truth, I'm not sure. I think he hit a shrimp. I used a little of everything today, shrimp (deheaded, peeled and soaked in salt overnight), sandfleas (live and frozen), cut mullet, cut blue, and cut ladyfish. Everything I caught today seemed to be in very close, as in no more than 50-75 feet off of the beach. I guess because the tide was coming in.Pretty nice morning actually, surf wasn't bad,stayed fairly cool, slight breeze from the north,gnats not too bad. I'll try again tomorrow. I think I'll try some crabs for a big red.
Old 06-15-2008, 02:48 AM   #6
Topwater Bluefish fan
Sailfish

good post and dude.....

where did you get that gator pic ? that issweet !