wanting to try surf fishing - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Old 05-20-2015, 03:01 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default wanting to try surf fishing

Ok so I picked up a used shakespeare surf reel and want to try my hand at surf fishing. I've never done it before I've always either freshwater fished or fished from the gulf breeze fishing bridge (pre ivan). But I've see people doing it at the beach that I go to and have been thinking about trying to get setup to try it. Pretty much since I'm new to it how do I know where to cast and what rig do I use, bait etc.... sorry for all the newbie questions
mustangmike89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2015, 06:19 PM   #2
White Marlin

Read this:

https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com...ad-surf-65252/

And remember, the biggest or most fish will not usually be as far as you can cast. I've caught some of the biggest 5ft from the land. Right where the surf skim runs right back into the water.
NoMoSurf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2015, 01:02 PM   #3
Ruby Red Lip

Thanks for the reply, I've read that post a couple of times (dislexia had it not making sense) and I think I know where to cast now. But what rigging should I use? I normally fish with the walmart double hook rigs but in another post on here people are saying to use a Carolina style rig. I don't fish with live bait, will a Carolina rig work with shrimp and cut bait also?
mustangmike89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2015, 02:34 PM   #4
Surf Beast
Ruby Red Lip

Hi,