surf fishing spots? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Old 04-02-2012, 11:31 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Unhappy surf fishing spots?

Hey guys I'm a rookie when it comes to surf fishing and I am curious to see if anyone could help me out on some good spots. I mainly try to go out for pompano but the 4 times I have had zero luck on catching anything. I've been tossing sand fleas and shrimp all behind the sand bars. Any information would be greatly appreciated
-Aaron
king is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
Cigar Minnow

What kind of gear are you using? When I go I like to use at least a 12' rod with either a good conventianal or a mitchel 402 or penn 706. I personaly like the Fort Pickens area. Not as crowded as free public beaches.
floridasportsman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2012, 01:21 PM   #3
26' blue sea hunt
Snapper

we went sunday and got a few pomps. the guys next to me were just killing it though with the pomps. They taught me somethings I am gonna try next time. First it seems the pomps are a little further offshore right now. I think mentioned in another thread i read on here. so we were walking out to the first sand bar and then casting as far as we could. I use two 15' surf rods and two 12' surf rods. Still had to walk out to first bar. light weight tackle. I switched to 8 and 10 lb test with 2oz and 3oz weights and 2/0 circle hooks. When i did this and using sand fleas that were alive not frozen, we started catching them. Hope you figure it out because they are fun to catch and GREAT eating!
Salty Daze is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-02-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Cigar Minnow