Shark Fishing Equipment Advice - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Old 07-15-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Shark Fishing Equipment Advice

I am new to surf shark fishing and have read post after post and this is what I have come up with:

Target:
Sharks 3' - 6'

Rig:
(2) Penn Fierce 8000 Spin Reels, 12' Diawa Beef Stick, with 400 yards of 80lb braid

Leaders:
14/0 Super Mutu circle hook, 3' of 175lb 49 strand wire, 5' of 150lb mon, 150lb barrel swivel, and a 4 oz spider sinker

12/0 Super Mutu circle hook, 3' of 175lb 49 strand wire, 5' of 150lb mon, 150lb barrel swivel, and a 4 oz spider sinker

Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!
Georgia Boy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-15-2012, 05:38 PM   #2
Ruby Red Lip

Personally I would use heavy duty 18/0 circle, 10 ft 170 seven stand with 175 200 lb swivel, a good 60-80 braided power pro, if you just fishing for a eating shark, but if fishing to catch big one need to up size equipment !!!!
Sea~N~Red is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2012, 11:32 PM   #3
Trigger

Right now I don't desire to catch a 'big' shark. I have beached some 4' blacktips and faught a big nurse (250 lbs ish) for 3.5 hours.

Since I am casting, I used 20 lb mono on my 6500 abu garcia on heavy action bass rod. I tied a 40 lb steel leader and a 7 alt circle hook.

My setup was more than a enough for the 4 footish blacktips. The nurse was on a tourist special and 12 lb line and broke me off as i was trying to beach it. The real was shot when i was done

If you are casting you can catch lots of sharks with a decently light setup which is what I enjoy.
froglegs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-16-2012, 09:55 PM   #4
Mingo