Pompano Experts - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree1Likes

Old 01-28-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
Trigger

Default Pompano Experts

I am new to pompano fishing to the extent that I haven't caught one yet. I have surf fished a bunch of times but I am interested in learning how to target them. I am pretty sure I have been using much too large bait and hooks for their liking. I have read plenty but would love to learn hands on from someone who has been around the block. Let me know if any of you pros are willing to divulge a few of your secrets.
PM me so we can set something up. Thanks.
Also I have a few surf set-ups but what would be some of the ideal pompano rod/reel combos you would recommend?
Hook line stinker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2013, 09:31 AM   #2
Sailfish

small hooks, and sand fleas or peeled shrimp do the trick. its a hurry up and wait kinda thing. usually the bite is a little better when there is a little surf
PaulBoydenCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2013, 09:35 AM   #3
Blue Marlin

I prefer size one light wire circles. Ive even caught dozens of bull reds including my largest at forty five inches on these hooks. They are just fine.

I use a double dropper rig with orange beads or floats made of twenty pound fluro.

I prefer fleas when its clear, fresh peeled shrimp when its a bit murky but always bring both.

The trick is reading the surf. Fish in cuts. Also bring at least four rods and position them in different depths in the cut, maybe even one beside the cut on the bar. If you start noticing one is getting ate more then others, put a few more baits in that spot.

If that cut isnt producing, move.

Im not as good as most of the harcore surf guys but I generally can put a pomp or two in the box.