New to surf fishing - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By welldoya
  • 1 Post By DANTheJDMan

Old 04-06-2015, 12:24 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default New to surf fishing

What's up everyone, I like to pic some brains and get some professional advice on surf fishing. I have been fishing around here for about 7 years now but have never tried surf fishing. Being that I live 5 min from the beach it seems worth a try. There are so many different options on rods, reels and rigs I don't know where to start. What would be a good all around rod length? Braid or mono? Carolina rig or double drop? Not really sure what my target species would be maybe pomps or reds. And advice would be a huge help

Thanks all
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2015, 12:55 PM   #2
Grand Slam

Everybody has their own preferences but here are mine :
I use 3 reels - a Penn 6500, a Penn 7500 and a Penn 8500. Others will work but that's what I use. I use 20 and 25 lb mono.
My rods are 9' and 10' long. Some use longer, some shorter but I wouldn't go shorter than 8'.
Make some rod holders out of thick-walled PVC. Around 3.5' - 4' long. Cut the end off to a point to make it easy to pound into the sand.
Get some double drop rigs or make some with flourocarbon. Use circle hooks. I can't remember the size, #2 maybe ? Could be wrong though.
Get some 2-4oz pyramid sinkers.
A cart helps to get all your stuff to the beach.
I mostly target pomps with the occasional redfish thrown in.
Oh, get a sandflea rake.
Silverfin likes this.
welldoya is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2015, 01:05 PM   #3
Cigar Minnow