New Member Fishing Gulf Shores August 5-11 - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Old 07-13-2012, 05:33 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default New Member Fishing Gulf Shores August 5-11

There you have it. I'll be in Gulf Shores with my boy and would like to do some surf fishing. I have all the equipment, but don't know what will be best this time of year regarding rigs, bait and so on. I plan on doing mostly surf fishing. Heavy rig with live bait or cut bait sitting while throwing a spoon or something else. I have never done it before, but I am familiar with most of the rigs being used with bait. I know absolutely nothing about pier fishing or what piers are available, but it seems to me that this would just be a good place to get into someones way and make someone mad. Also, if we did catch something, I don't know how we'd get it to the pier landing. We're mostly interested in catching fish, but I don't want to spend my week pulling in 8 to 12" 'crapfish' cast after cast with no hope of catching something bigger and more exciting. I'd love to catch something we could eat as well. I just think that would make for a good first experience for my son. Anyway, I'm open to any and all suggestions. As I said before, I'm new to this forum and don't want to make anyone angry by asking stupid or redundant questions. I would appreciate any and all help you guys who know your stuff could provide me. Thank you in advance!
animalspooker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-13-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
Squid technician
Grand Slam

When you get into town, come talk to me here at our shop on canal road. I can get you set up and on the right path to catch "fish", not "crap".

Chirs Vecsey
Sam's Bait and Tackle
251-981-4245
27122 Canal Rd
Orange Beach, Al 36561
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message