Brand new fisherman - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By JT86907
  • 1 Post By Simply Sweet

Old 05-29-2015, 03:41 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Brand new fisherman

I have always (for the majority of my 33 years) been a fresh water fisherman. I love to bass/crappie/bream fish. I was sitting in my office (I'm an accountant) a few weeks ago and a co-worker stopped by to tell me about his vacation that he had just got back from.

He went down into the Destin area and he mentioned that he took his rod but didn't have a chance to throw it out. I starting asking him what he was fishing for and he told me pompano. He said all you have to do is wade out from the beach and throw it out and you can catch them.

I was instantly fascinated. I have never once fished from the beach and have only twice fished off a boat in saltwater (with no luck). So I started doing some research. I found this site and also fishingdestinguide.com and watched a ton of youtube videos on the subject.

I decided that if he could do it, then so could I. I pulled up google earth and started looking for spots on the coast that I thought would be a good spot to go and concluded that I would trek down to Mexico Beach (Crooked Island Beach) and try this so called surf fishing two weekends ago. I went to the bass pro here in Prattville and bought two rods (one for my girlfriend and one for me), some pompano rigs, some sinkers and two sand spikes.

I was off. We got to the beach about 8am after making the two hour drive down from Dothan and stopping at the marina to buy some live shrimp. I bought a sand flea rake but knew I would be horrible at catching them (youtube can only teach you so much). I found us a good spot away from the other fishermen and set up.