***HELP*** Surf Fishing Newb - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Surf Fishing - General Q & A

Old 03-21-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default ***HELP*** Surf Fishing Newb

Like the title says...Im a beginner to surf fishing...as in never done it before. I'll be in Pensecola towards the end of May.

My general questions are:

-What type of fish are more prominent (dont judge my spelling) during that time of month?

-What type of leader rigs should I use?

-^^Same questions apply towards surf fishing at night.

-What's the best type of bait?

As you can see I can really use some help so please...dont come to this thrad and start flaming. I really just want some help. Ive never really tried to surf fish. I am a freshwater angler however so im not completely blind here.

Thanks in advance for any input thats given!!!
kwright87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2012, 12:21 AM   #2
Snapper

Types of fish: Ladyfish, bluefish, reds, black drums, pompano, sharks and ALOT of catfish...
Leaders: At night i would use a cable leader for the simple reason of sharks, during the day i use pompano rigs and mono double drop rigs (all can be found at any local tackle shop) i use 2/0 circle hooks and the pomp and double drop rigs.. and at night 7/0-12/0 circle hooks to try and avoid the catfish.
Bait: At night any type of cut fish should do, i prefer mullet because it stays on the hook well, and the good old fresh dead shrimp. During the day i still use the fresh dead shrimp, and sandfleas. But all of the fish listed above will bite the shrimp.
Good luck, and are you already set up with a surf setup???
penn 10/0 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2012, 12:29 AM   #3
Grouper

https://www.pensacolafishingforum.com...ad-surf-65252/
FUPAGUNT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-22-2012, 10:18 AM   #4