Will be in Gulf Shores next week....hoping for advice - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By badonskybuccaneers

Old 07-10-2014, 06:05 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Will be in Gulf Shores next week....hoping for advice

I am new to this forum, but not new to Inshore Saltwater fishing. I am an avid inshore fisherman from Texas in my mid-forties, and on my local CCA Chapter board for 15 years now. I have been fishing saltwater for about 35 years at least.

Anyway, I will be in Gulf Shores July 14-18 with the family and would like some advice from folks down that way. I am planning on bringing some of my gear, with an assortment of plastics, spoons, topwaters, wading belt, etc...

I have always wondered about the lagoon area behind the main beachfront. Is it accessible for wade fishing, should I rent a kayak? I will have my 10 year old son with me and he loves to fish also.

Is fishing the Surf near all the beach front condos something I should give a try to? Any tips would be appreciated.

Does anyone know of a Flounder gigging guide in the area that may have an opening that week? We would love a flounder trip, or an inshore trip with a reputable guide.

Also, some family we will be there with usually rents a pontoon boat for a day or half day and pulls some tubes down the beach. Are there other boat types for rent, like a center console we could do a bit of fishing off too?

We'll be down for a week and we want to do some fishing. Don't need lots of bites, but my son likes to catch em if they are around. How about night fishing? We love it under the lights here in Texas. Are there any good places near Gulf Shores for that?

I appreciate any info anyone can offer.
Aggieangler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2014, 09:30 PM   #2
I pegged my fishometer
Grouper