Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

sabiki help please

4K views 11 replies 12 participants last post by  Chris V 
#1 ·
I have heard of sabiki rigs, but never seen them used. Are they trolled or cast and reeled back in? Weighted? Used with a cane pole? Jigged? Do you chum an area before you use one?
Trying to get some bait from a boat before a trip to the bay rigs off Dauphin Island. Not too good with a cast net yet. Thanks...know it's a dumb question, but I'm still learning LOL:)

#3 ·
It helps to see/know where the bait is. Tie the sabiki rig to your line, add a small barrel/triangle weight to the end of the rig. Toss it into the school of baitfish, and pole it up and down or reel it jigging. When they bite, reel 'em in. Not difficult when you get the hang of it.
There's also other older post detailing tried and true ways to fish them. Just use the "search" feature.
g/l

#4 ·
I use them on my light setup that I also use for catching schoolie dolphin. You put a weight on the bottom and lightly jig up and down and load up on bait.

#5 ·
One trick I've learned is that once you hook a baitfish don't reel him in immediately it will swim around shaking and moving the sabiki which will attract the other baitfish in the school so instead of reeling in one or two baits you'll get four or five :thumbup::thumbup:

#6 ·
One thing I've found to be VERY important...when you attach your weight to the bottom of your sabiki, don't be afraid to use a fairly large weight. Like a 2 ounce. Having 6 healthy threadfins or cigars on your line is a recipe for a knot like you wouldn't believe if your weight is too light. Having a heavier weight helps keep your bait more "in line."

#7 ·