Rookie inshore Red Snapper question... - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Like Tree8Likes

Old 06-04-2019, 03:52 PM   #1
One eye fishing,
Snapper

Default Rookie inshore Red Snapper question...

I've been fishing inshore panhandle waters now for nearly 20 years. I have zero experience offshore. Finally got my first boat that is marginally capable of hitting up some of the nearshore state water fishing. Since then, I've been battling a total knee replacement and now lithotripsy... Still zero offshore experience.
But I've hunted up a few places in the bay where I know I can catch red snapper. I'm looking forward to getting to them as soon as the season opens, but I am curious about the circle hook regulations. I know they're mandatory when using live bait for reef species and all that, but I just cannot find the specific answer to my specific question. I've been catching them on inshore jigs (non-circle hook) and live shrimp. Same rigs I've always used for reds, trout, and flounder.
Will it not be legal to keep a fish (ARS) caught in this fashion from the bay?
Should I switch up to a tiny knocker rig with a circle hook?
I'll be happy with a few 5 to 8 pounders till I find my way off shore!
Thx...
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2019, 03:56 PM   #2
White Marlin

Throw em in the box.
Catchemall likes this.
cody&ryand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 09:06 PM   #3
Snapper

Reef fish no matter where they are caught...circle hooks required
Butcherpen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-04-2019, 09:26 PM   #4
Snapper

circle hooks are required in conjunction with natural bait. A jig with a non-circle hook is fine.
From FWC:
"Circle hooks (must be non-stainless and not offset) when using natural baits."