question for the forum... - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Old 06-17-2014, 12:08 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default question for the forum...

I will piggy-back off Lyin Too's thread. I have been fishing Choctawhatchee Bay for many years. I fish once maybe twice a week and I have invested a lot of money in plastics, tackle etc... I have a boat and move around all over the bay. I have had an extremely tough time fishing inshore this year. I know the fresh water has to be a factor but even last year after the rains I still did pretty well. I see the live bait guys (guides etc.) doing pretty good with that. I try live bait and it drives me crazy sitting in one spot and I never seem to do well. I love to use plastics and would prefer to use that. Should I try and learn the live bait tactics.. or just get better with plastics? I believe you can catch them on plastics and understand this time of year(summer) is tough under any conditions, but just wanted some other opinions. I see (dabutcher) catches them pretty regular and he fishes a lot of the same lures, patterns I do but choctaw bay is not on par with the Pensacola, Blackwater bay areas. Just looking for ideas, feel free to chime in Im all ears! Thanks.
Destin Realtor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2014, 01:27 PM   #2
White Marlin

Hey Realtor;

Here's my biological interpretation of this spring's events...compare them to last yrs. you'll understand why our gulf region is experiencing poor inshore fishing in general and the more saline areas are producing well beyond normal.

Ok, early this yr., we had lots of rain storms about every 2-3 weeks, w/ lots of water...this pattern continued from Feb - till just recently. With as we all know, flash flooding in our area AS WELL as to our north.