New boat what electronics do you recommend? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Like Tree4Likes

Old 05-10-2014, 01:13 PM   #1
Trigger

Default New boat what electronics do you recommend?

I bought a g3 aluminum boat that I plan to use mostly inshore bay fishing around here, central florida, and Louisiana. What's a good combo and should I upgrade my transducer? I've always been a offshore guy and know electronics are very important offshore. I'm new to the inshore game
youngbloodr2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-10-2014, 10:14 PM   #2
153 large fishes
Sailfish

I love my lowrance touch screen with real side scan... (I say real because humminbird doesn't really work nearly as well....i mean the side scan transducer is like 9 or 10 inches long compared to an inch and a half on the humminbird)
chad403, spike and youngbloodr2 like this.
153 Large fish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2014, 08:38 AM   #3
Grouper

I have to agree. I have a Humminbird 597 HD DI that I bought because I got a great deal on it. It certainly is a nice product that is light years beyond the old Garmin I had used before (black and white). However, when I went fishing with a buddy of mine who had a Lowrance HDS5 - I was a little jealous. I think the imaging function was a little bit better and the map options included are much better. Again, I am not recommending you stay away from the Humminbird, but I feel like the Lowrance is a better value.
youngbloodr2 likes this.
NoleAnimal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-13-2014, 07:59 AM   #4
jep
Ruby Red Lip

I just bought a lowrance hds 8 with side scan and love it. Check out boe marine for the best price, and lowrance is running a $300 mail in rebate right now
jep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message