Need recommendations for 2 PIECE Casting & Spinning Inshore rods that r reasonable $$ - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Old 04-12-2014, 10:20 PM   #1
Blue Marlin

Default Need recommendations for 2 PIECE Casting & Spinning Inshore rods that r reasonable $$

Thinking of doing some traveling and wanted to take a well stocked rod bag with me in flight and was wondering about 2 piece Casting and Spinning rods that won't break the bank (2 piece because of the travel situation). I have been buying 1 piece rods for 40+ years but have little to no experience with 2 piece. Also would be interested in knowing which ones to stay away from.

I already have the reels from my 1 piece favorites. (casting, Shimano Bantam Curado's 200's, 300's) (spinning US Reel 240 Sx's, & Penn's)

Primarily salt water, medium / heavy action rods, 12 to 14 pound line use, 6' 6" to 7', lure weight 1/4 to 3/4 oz. Maybe even 20 lb braid. Same set up you would use for big top water specks and even the occasional bull red.

I did a brief search on flea-bay and found some priced between $12 bucks to $200+. I know you normally get what you pay for but occasionally you can run across some real quality that is reasonably priced.

Thanks in advance. You guys are always my "go to" with specifics and I appreciate one and all of you with your shared great info... Tom B.

Last edited by Boatjob1; 04-12-2014 at 10:26 PM.
Boatjob1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2014, 11:29 PM   #2
Snapper

I have a lot of nicer rods, but have caught plenty of reds, trout, flounder, bass, sheephead, etc. on the cheapest two piece rod Wally World sells. I think it is a Shakespeare Excursion. True that you get what you pay for, but you don't have to feel like crying when the tip on that $15 rod breaks in transit. It will get the job done.