Need help selecting lure colors - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Like Tree8Likes

Old 06-01-2014, 07:14 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Need help selecting lure colors

I'm pretty new to fishing artificials inshore. Normally I just use live shrimp. I have no idea what color lures to buy. I have some soft plastic jerkbaits in new penny and some mirrodines in electric chicken and the 808 color. I rarely use them and only caught a couple of fish on them. What I want to know is in what situation would you use a natural color lure over an unnatural color like electric chicken. Also when would you use chartreuse tail baits over baits without a chartreuse tail? I've heard some people say chartreuse for murky water and some say for clear.
Also what are good color choices for topwaters and whats an overall rule of thumb to selecting the right lure color? I mostly wade fish over grass for trout and redfish.
Gulflady likes this.

Last edited by AME0219; 06-01-2014 at 07:16 PM.
AME0219 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2014, 11:15 PM   #2
Snapper

Edit

Last edited by oysterman; 07-22-2014 at 09:01 PM.
oysterman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2014, 08:54 AM   #3
Cigar Minnow

Default Anything Chartreuse!!!

you'll get a bunch of opinions, so here's mine.. I generally use a shad assassin type bait with chartreuse tail / body on a 1/8 to 1/4 oz. chartreuse jighead. Usually go with lighter, glittery colors for clear water and a darker one for murky water. But, this is what I throw 85% of the time. Hard body lures, usually go with natural fish patterns.

Chartreuse is that kinda neon green flavored bait...
AME0219 likes this.
USMCEOD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-02-2014, 08:58 AM   #4
Sailfish