Mobile bay fishing help/tips - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Old 06-05-2018, 12:17 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Mobile bay fishing help/tips

Hey everyone, I am just getting into saltwater fishing, have fished freshwater all my life till recently. A little over a month ago I bought a smaller 18 bay boat nothing big at all but not super tiny either. I plan on getting into fishing the mobile bay area and delta first I think but have no clue what I'm getting into. Don't really know anything about saltwater species except for redfish, white/silver trout and flounder. Never been out in the bay in my life. I am mainly looking for any tips and help I can get. Where do I start? How do I learn the rules/regulations on how many and what rules of what fish to catch? And most importantly how do I learn my way around the bay so I don't run aground or wreck or what not? Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. TIA.
Joshuahayes2006 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2018, 12:44 AM   #2
skeeterbay
Trigger

I've never fished that area so I can't help you with specifics, only some generic info.

Do you have a depthfinder/gps with charts on it? Even if you do, Pay $10 bucks for the navionics app. I have thousands in depthfinders but i use that $10 app EVERY time i'm on the water.

Youtube is a fantastic source of information. Watch every video you can on the specific area you are fishing.

Google Maps Satellite imaging!!! Look on there at the flats and cuts and compare with navionics. It tells a lot about where fish should stack up.

That will get you in the right direction.

Last edited by jeremyledford; 06-05-2018 at 12:58 AM.
jeremyledford is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2018, 01:26 AM   #3
Trigger