Mitchell 498 series 198 review - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tinboat814

Old 04-21-2015, 08:19 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Mitchell 498 series 198 review

Hey everyone I'm reviewing my Mitchell 198 reel. I couldn't find any reviews on the reel so I figured I would write one. I was looking for a reel in the $140 price range when I came across this one. There are things I like about the reel and some I don't. Keep in mind I'm no reel engineering expert just a fisherman.

The reel is about a 3000 series size holding 180 yds of 12lb mono with 13lbs of drag and weighing in at 11 oz. It has a full metal body with 7 bearings and a 5.8:1 gear ratio. The drag is a sealed carbon and felt washer combo similar to the shimano stradic. The finish could have been better since it had bubbles in the paint. It's purely cosmetic, but still I paid $100 dollars. The rotor and spool had cuts in them similar to daiwa and penn. The internals and drag were greased with what looks like dielectric grease. The gears looked very good better than the penn ssv and the screws holding the body together were loc-tited in which was nice to see.

I put the reel on a 7' W&M rod filled with 12lb ande mono. The setup casted great and was very smooth reeling. I had zero issues out on the water today. If I was a better fisherman I might have caught something other than catfish, but I didn't. The biggest catfish I hooked into was a 2' and this reel handled it extremely well. The drag was very smooth and consistent. If I hook into a bull red with this setup I know it could handle the task. After it was all said and done I rinsed off the reel and found no water in the drag or body of the reel.