Inshore Trolling - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A
Register Fishing Photos FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Advertise

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By barefoot

Old 09-18-2015, 01:36 AM   #1
The Plant Guy
Trigger

Default Inshore Trolling

Okay I'm totally new to trolling, so I'm wondering if anyone can give me some pointers or recommendations on what they use. Like how far back to let the line out, what speed to go, and what to rig up? I've tried various artificials, gulp shrimp carolina rigged, ratltraps (which often get hung up), clarkspoons, all without any action so far. I trolled a live finger mullet yesterday for about an hour and didn't get any takers. I don't really know if I'm doing something wrong, or if I just need more time on the water.

My basic strategy is to pick out a few spots that I know hold fish in a general area, and then I troll to and through each one, making a circuit. I usually let the lures get back about 100-200ft.

I run the trolling motor, a cheap 45lb thrust minn kota, not sure how fast I'm going but I usually have it about mid way, power wise. I considered idling the outboard also as an alternative, but not sure if anyone does that either. It's just a little 25hp so it doesn't push the boat all that fast when idling.

Any help is appreciated, I just want to make sure I'm maximizing my chances of success.
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-18-2015, 04:15 AM   #2
Sailfish

Stretch 25's, Cigar minnow with a Duster in front of it.
4 to 6 mph and if using live or dead bait make sure its not spinning. If you are dragging up grass you are trolling to slow or not deep enough water.
SHO-NUFF is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2015, 07:42 AM   #3
Blue Marlin

What species are you targeting?

Old 09-18-2015, 07:52 AM   #4
White Marlin