Inshore bay fishing help - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Old 06-18-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Trigger

Default Inshore bay fishing help

im new to inshore fishing in the bay. the reason im starting is due to the fact that im not old enough to drive myself places and the price of gas for my parents to take me to the pier everyday is way to much. so i have to fish in the gulf breeze/ pensacola area. i dont really have any idea on what to use. im going to use a ugly stik i have and not sure on the reel yet but something in the 12lb class (if thats alright do i need to go smaller or bigger?). my main targets are redfish and trout and maybe a few flounder.

i dont really know about baits and lures or rigs or setups. i can easily get pinfish. but what about other baits? i have heard good things about doa shrimp, gulp, krocodiles spoons, and popping cork rigs. can someone please explain or post a picture of a popping cork rig? plus i need places to fish. i live right next to the bluffs but i dont know if thats any good fishing. also what about shoreline park, octagon pier, and wayside park?

thanks. any help will be appreciated.

-jace
jaceboat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Trigger

Default RE: Inshore bay fishing help

Article on popping corks. I am not familiar enough with the area to suggest where to fish.

http://www.in-fisherman.com/magazine...if2803_angles/
Georgiaboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2008, 04:22 PM   #3
White Marlin

Shoreline is an excellent area to wade fish. That is where I kind of cut my teeth on trout. All the lures you mentioned work very well. Just keep trying new things and don't get frustrated if you strike out from time to time.