Begginer - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Inshore Fishing / Surf Fishing > Inshore Fishing - General Q&A

Old 08-08-2008, 09:24 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Begginer

Im a freswater fisherman thats really starting to like saltwater fishing, Ive been mainly doing this inshore fishing and off the shore on the NAS Naval base. Im still very new at it and Im trying to learn about the species, what there biting, how to catch them and what seasons to catch them?? Whats the best way to start? Is thereany good reference material for someone like myself? Could anyone out there give me some simple advice?? Thanks!!!
mazement1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-08-2008, 09:31 AM   #2
Praedator
Grand Slam

Default RE: Begginer

You are starting off right by coming here. Search the inshore reportssection here. Many times folks will mention what they were using for bait and their technique etc... Browse the Inshore Q&A as well. This forum cuts down on the amount of trial an error a guy needs to do on the water. Just poke around and read as much as possible. I can't catch a damn thing on a hook and line:banghead. So I am no help in that aspect.
Telum Pisces is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2008, 09:44 AM   #3
Ruby Red Lip

If your looking to catch reds and specks, try the gold spoon, people tell me it the "Idiot Lure", all you do is cast and reel.
gocatchfish37 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-08-2008, 09:45 AM   #4
WW2
Sailfish

If you've got the ability book a charter with on of the inshore guides, they will teach you everything you need to know to get a really good start. Matt Mcleod would probably be my first choice to start with, he's done it all pretty much, and he knows offshore too so you can learn the full range.
WW2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2008, 10:55 AM   #5