Positions of wrecks - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Reefs and Wrecks

Like Tree11Likes

Old 06-20-2014, 03:09 AM   #1
Freshwater Flounder
White Marlin

Default Positions of wrecks

I'm fairly new to saltwater fishing and have managed to download (thanks to PFF) a whole slew of public spots into my GPS.

In my few times out this year one problem I have encountered is knowing the position in which the various wrecks lie. All I have is a GPS number which I can only hope indicates the center of the wreck. I can attempt to figure it out by cruising around the site until I get an idea which way it lies so I know how to try to anchor so the wind/current puts me over the wreck ... which often isn't easy and I'm sure all that idling around a site can be annoying to anyone else who might already be anchored there.

For example .... Coal Barges; Russian Freighter; The Mass; Pete Tide, etc. Does the wreck lie East to West; North to South; Southeast to Southwest, etc? I haven't a clue on some of them.

Is there a list anywhere indicating the positions in which the various wrecks lie?

If you need music on the beach, you're missing the point.

Last edited by AndyS; 06-20-2014 at 03:12 AM.
AndyS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-20-2014, 06:05 AM   #2
Grand Slam

You have the numbers just go fish them and you will learn to read a fathometer and tell which direction they lay. When you get a rise on the fathometer its the wreck. put a buoy in and figure the directions. Figuring the currents is an even harder thing that TIME will be the only teacher.
Reelfun27 and THONAS J. RYAN like this.
Old 06-20-2014, 09:19 AM   #3
Sailfish

Send a message via AIM to amarcafina Send a message via MSN to amarcafina

yep , you'll have to figure that out your self.. Experience is a great learning tool.
Hook and THONAS J. RYAN like this.

Old 06-20-2014, 12:16 PM   #4
Freshwater Flounder