Learning the reefs and wrecks - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Reefs and Wrecks

Old 03-20-2011, 08:13 AM   #1
Grouper

Default Learning the reefs and wrecks

I know people don't like giving up and good spots and thats not what I am asking. lol but I am starting to run my boat out of Navy Pass and trying to learn where to go to find some good fishing. It seem that I find hardly any bottom structure running around out there but Im still learning and havent gone out real far maybe five miles. I have a 1976 20 ft mako with a 150hp evinrude with a 44 gallon tank so I am learning how far can I go safely on fuel. I would like to give my wife and daughter some time bottom fishing for decent fish. I have seen some boats in spots but don't believe in crowding them either. I have been out to the Russian freighter with a friend 4 years back and it took me a couple times just finding the Massachusetts. lol
Im just a complete nubbie to how to fish out there when and where? I don't know trolling lures. I have lived down in St. Pete and fished the gulf there with no problems but here just seems to be a lot different. its like I am starting all over. any advise and help would be appreciated.

I have a cheap Matrix 12 Hummingbird that I have learned to put numbers into to help fine what I have downloaded from sites but I believe the hurricanes have covered a lot of the older reefs because I found no bottom structure upon getting to some. make any sense?
snookman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2011, 11:35 AM   #2
AAR
Snapper

Default Man, I'm kind of in the same boat.

I'm new to driving my own boat. I know, from having gone out with friends for years, that a lot of it has to do with staying right on top of a spot when you do get there. I guess you printed out the coordinates from the Escambia County site.