Deploying personal reefs - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Reefs and Wrecks

Old 10-29-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Mingo

Default Deploying personal reefs

So I have a couple of permitted reefs to drop off my personal boat. So what is everyones deployment method? 2 or 3 folks lift and toss? don't want it to hit boat. Also trying to get it to land up right on bottom any ideas? I'm new to this if you can tell.
Rampage is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
Grouper

attach weights to the side you want to be on the bottom and drop it with the weights down.... never deployed a reef but that is what seems logical.
foreverfishing is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 02:36 PM   #3
stonecoldshooter
Sailfish

If it lands on its' side, you could get a diver to right it. Depending on the weight of the reef, a few 100 lb lift bags can set it upright. If they are super heavy, you will need someone with 1000 lb lift bags. Only a few local guys have the big bags.

If you need it righted and it is not too heavy, I would give it a shot. I've never tried it, but would love to try it for the experience. I would ride out on your boat to keep your numbers sacred.

Old 10-29-2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Sailfish

I concur with the above. Just toss it over and keep it away from the boat as to not chip/ding anything. There are plenty of divers on this site who wouldnt mind getting a ride out there and getting it oriented correctly.

One thing I would do is to tie fishing line around the top of the wreck and put the reel in freespool. Once you dump the wreck over, you can put the reel in gear and that should put the boat right over the wreck.
polar21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 11:01 PM   #5
Grouper