relocating batteries (boat) - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Off Topic

Old 01-18-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Blue Marlin

Default relocating batteries (boat)

i have a 92 21' cape horn i want to relocate the batteries under the console they are a bitch to get to under the live well. i have never done this before what kind of materials etc. is required to do it yourself, or if some one wants to do it what kind of price am i looking to get this done i wanna do it as least expensive as possible but not use something that i will have to replace in a year or two. it is a two battery set up
floater1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #2
Grouper

Main thing to consider to make sure cable splices are very good and sealed as much as possible. I like the vulcanizing tape you apply heat to make it seal better. I currently have a repair in my motor harness due to a broke wire.
pappastratos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2011, 07:39 PM   #3
PDC Fishing Team
Sailfish

You may need a 2nd mortgage for the wire. Make sure you use the correct gauge.

Also, search this forum for battery connections. I think I remember X-Shark???? posting a good read about soldering/crimping the connections.

"....during the public comment period that followed, comments were overwhelmingly opposed to the proposal. As a result, NOAA fisheries reopened the public comment period for and additional 15 days, but there was no change to the results. The regional administrator of NOAA Fisheries announced that the recreational greater amberjack season will close for June and July as scheduled..."
swhiting is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2011, 11:07 PM   #4
Sailfish

I did it and am happy with it you can get the wire at a good price at the stereo place across from the T&W flee market

http://www.bayoujoes.com/