Question about switching out a breaker - Page 2 - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2010, 06:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
Snapper
 
mt0264's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pace Fl.
Posts: 438
Default

you cant call me but I can call you I am offshore now send me your number to [email protected] better make it quick LSU is playing LOL
mt0264 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2010, 06:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
Snapper
 
mt0264's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pace Fl.
Posts: 438
Default

Breaker out headed to HD for new one. glad I could help
mt0264 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 06:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
Snapper
 
mt0264's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pace Fl.
Posts: 438
Default

all this hard work is making me hungry got to go eat lol
mt0264 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 06:31 PM   #14
Senior Member
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pace, Florida
Posts: 8,223
Default

Mike called me and helped me out a lot. He walked me through getting the breaker out. I was pulling on the wrong side against the little hooks.
Going up to Lowe's in a few minutes and getting a new breaker. Will post results. Thanks Mike.
welldoya is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 06:37 PM   #15
Senior Member
Grouper
 
GENTLE WOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 1,048
Default

Might want to check to make sure you don't have an overcurrent situation before you buy a new breaker. I have a clamp ammeter if you want to check it.
GENTLE WOLF is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 06:55 PM   #16
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
johnsonbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,012
Default

Your meter/breaker box sounds like mine. Mid 1980's vintage with the meter above the 220 breakers.
It does not have a Main breaker (one that cuts all power downstream of the meter.
The only way to get dead breaker rails is to pull the meter out of the socket.

Make sure that white stuff is not some form of corrosion.
Rain might be running down the power pipe above the meter and getting into the box.
johnsonbeachbum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 07:16 PM   #17
Senior Member
Grouper
 
GENTLE WOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 1,048
Default

White stuff is likley dielectric grease used during installation.
GENTLE WOLF is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 07:23 PM   #18
Senior Member
Snapper
 
mt0264's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pace Fl.
Posts: 438
Default

he had a lose wire on one leg of the breaker that is were the high amp draw was coming from and white electical smoke trail. (Alumium wire) the wire just fell out of the breaker when he removed it.
mt0264 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 07:25 PM   #19
Senior Member
Grouper
 
GENTLE WOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 1,048
Default

10-4
GENTLE WOLF is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 08:12 PM   #20
Senior Member
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pace, Florida
Posts: 8,223
Default

Job is done and working fine.
Went to Lowe's , took the old breaker with me. The breaker was a GE but another brand seemed to look more like it than the GE they had so I bought both. Came back and tried the GE and it seemed a little loose so I used the other one. Like Mike said, when I took the old breaker out, one of the wires just fell out. Apparently wasn't screwed in tight.
Put in the wires and snapped it in. Everything is working fine.
Thanks Mike and thanks to all of you that helped out with suggestions.

Steve
welldoya is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.