Anybody use a roof mounted antenna - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2010, 03:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
Snapper
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 513
Default Anybody use a roof mounted antenna

I am trying to figure out if I can use an amped, roof mounted antenna hooked to my outside cable junction and get decent reception in all our tvs (3). Since the switch to digital I am hearing people talk of receiving 30 +/- channels. I pay for 25 and would love to be done with a Cox bill.
Any help is greatly appreciated. SHB
Stuart H. Brown is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2010, 05:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
johnsonbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,012
Default

Before you buy any antenna, try hooking the Cox Cable cable into the antenna port of your TV after you disconnect the Cox Cable that comes off the utility pole.
I have one LCD HDTV hooked up that way and it gets almost the same channels as my other LCD HDTV on a real roof ridge mounted antenna with the latest coax cable, aimed in the recommended direction.
Winegard SS-1000 SquareShooter UHF Only Digital/Analog/HDTV TV Antenna System (SS-1000) - Winegard - SS-1000 - Antennas&sku=

And yes I get around 30 channels but half of them are church, spanish, rerun and weather channels.
johnsonbeachbum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2010, 05:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 12,483
Default

i had one on a pole outside and got great coverage, but when it moved I would lose everything. Bought an indoor one about the size of a pie plate from W mart and it is perfect quality. I get everything but FOX. I gotta figure out how to get it, though, because I need to watch the Saints.
jspooney is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2010, 11:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
Mingo
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Navarre
Posts: 158
Default

Fox is broadcasted in VHF. If you want to pick-up FOX WALA you will also need to purchase a VHF Antenna. Go to this website AntennaWeb and enter you zip code and it will tell you what antenna you need and were to point it.
Rockntroll is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2010, 10:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
Snapper
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 513
Default

Thanks for the feedback. I think with a few free channels and netflix I should be able to get more than enough shows. SHB
Stuart H. Brown is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2010, 01:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
johnsonbeachbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,012
Default

I get FOX WALA via the UHF antenna I listed above.

The other TV that is only using the old coax cabling as its antenna is also picking up FOX WALA.
johnsonbeachbum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2010, 09:25 PM   #7
twiceRetired Serve No One
Blue Marlin
 
HisName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perdido / Molino
Posts: 4,332
Default

Have one on my hunting home in Molino that is Very Off Grid.

I do not remember the brand , however it is a Long Range antenna that is huge . I get a lot of channels but mostly watch " World " and Retro TV

They are Hi Def and as clear or better than cable. my advice is to buy a large long range digital antenna
__________________

HisName is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2010, 02:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
Mingo
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Navarre
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonbeachbum View Post
I get FOX WALA via the UHF antenna I listed above.

The other TV that is only using the old coax cabling as its antenna is also picking up FOX WALA.

It depends on where you at. If your close to Mobile, your UHF antenna may pick-up VHF signals and the information page you linked for your antenna states that. However, if you are further away from the signal like I am in Navarre, I had to add a VHF antenna to pick-up Fox
Rockntroll is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.