AC Unit HELP! - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 02:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
PompNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via AIM to PompNewbie Send a message via Yahoo to PompNewbie
Default AC Unit HELP!

My outside AC unit at the house is not kicking on.. checked everything I know to check.
Drain float is not backed up
Breakers are not tripped
Thermostat is hardwired.. no batterys

I have 3 kids in the house and could really use a hand.
Thanks
PompNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2011, 02:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
Grouper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 692
Default

check the start capacitor... easy to remove, and easily checked.

if the case is swollen, it is bad.... cheap and easy fix.

(complete shot in the dark, but something to look at and a high failure item).

Good luck!
Sailing_Faith is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 02:46 PM   #3
Bearded Brotula
Grand Slam
 
MrFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Posts: 11,445
Default

Do you feel heat coming from the top?? If so, your fan could be locked up. Are the lines "frozen"?? There could be couple different things. If you take the cover off, you can push the contacter down, if the compressor kicks on, then it's your contacter.
__________________
Shooting tomorrow's trophies today.
MrFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
PompNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via AIM to PompNewbie Send a message via Yahoo to PompNewbie
Default

Lines are not frozen and blades turn by hand
Standing outside by the unit and having wife turn on inside, I hear nothing from the unit.. no whirring clicking hums.. nothing

Last edited by PompNewbie; 07-16-2011 at 02:55 PM.
PompNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 02:53 PM   #5
Bearded Brotula
Grand Slam
 
MrFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Posts: 11,445
Default

Do you hear anything at the unit?? Like it's trying to come on. Or nothing? If it's nothing, take the cover off and push the contacter down. If the compressor kicks on, then you need a new one.
__________________
Shooting tomorrow's trophies today.
MrFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 03:00 PM   #6
US ARMY 2d ID VETERAN
White Marlin
 
CurDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Homeless
Posts: 2,521
Default

Yup, sounds like the contact to me also, unless the fan isn't coming on at all?
At the thermostat, put it on "fan only". Go outside to see if the fan is actually working. If not, listen for a humming noise. If there is, it's a bad fan motor. If not working, either bad wire, a wire came off, or bad motor. If it's on, then back to the contact relay. Or maybe the thermostat is turned up too high??
CurDog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 03:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
amarcafina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orange Beach
Posts: 1,963
Send a message via AIM to amarcafina Send a message via MSN to amarcafina
Default

I am a certifide, HVAC tech.
Is the inside fan working ?
You have a breaker for inside and another for outside , Check both ?

Also the should be a fuse for the Transformer . Transformer controls the themostat, which controls the contactor for the compressor and fan outside.
__________________
33' Proline , Twin Yanmar Diesels
amarcafina is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 03:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
PompNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via AIM to PompNewbie Send a message via Yahoo to PompNewbie
Default

OK.. Went outside and took the cover off and pushed the contact down.. everything comes on as it should. I tried to push in the high pressure reset button but it was not popped.
I was told I can cut the 2 wires going to the high pressure switch and splice them together to rule the switch out. But I have not done that yet.
PompNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 03:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
PompNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via AIM to PompNewbie Send a message via Yahoo to PompNewbie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amarcafina View Post
I am a certifide, HVAC tech.

Also the should be a fuse for the Transformer . Transformer controls the themostat, which controls the contactor for the compressor and fan outside.
Any idea where this would be and what it looks like? also if the fuse were blown would the thermostat be blank or off?

Last edited by PompNewbie; 07-16-2011 at 03:51 PM.
PompNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 04:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
PompNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via AIM to PompNewbie Send a message via Yahoo to PompNewbie
Default

High Pressure switch was bad.. thanks for all the help
PompNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.