Hiring a captain for a tournament - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > General Discussion

Old 07-11-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Hiring a captain for a tournament

I'm interested in hiring a captain to fish the MBGFC labor day tourney and was wondering what the standard is. Obviously paying the guy to charter his boat and paying entry fees, but do the fisherman get all the winnings or is it split with the captain/owner? Do people work out deals to not pay as much for the charter and give up a portion of potential winnings? TIA!
TideFishin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
Young Snappa
Trigger

Well I cant understand why they would work out deals where you wouldn't pay as much, because what if you dont win? then he would be out of money. I'm new to the fishing tournament scene but never heard of someone chartering a boat for a tournament, normally all the captains go out with their own crew.
Old 07-11-2013, 03:18 PM   #3
Bearded Brotula
Grand Slam

It's done, but I don't know what the details are.
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2013, 03:21 PM   #4
Grouper

You pay the captain/owner for the charter of the boat. This money is guaranteed.

The person or person chartering the boat and captain pays the entry fee.

Each person paying the entry fee gets a share of the winnings after the entry fee is deducted. This does not include the hiring of the boat and captain.

The boat and the captain also gets a share of the winnings. Any deckhands are paid by the captain or they get tips from the anglers.
captwesrozier is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #5
***Creepy A$$ Cracker***
Blue Marlin

Quote:
Originally Posted by TideFishin View Post