Green Technology! - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > General Discussion
Register Fishing Photos FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Advertise

Old 05-31-2010, 05:16 AM   #1
Mingo

Default Green Technology!

Have any of you put much thought into converting a boat from a gas powered machine to one that is powered by a large electric motor or even a hybrid? I am no engineer, but I have done some research and think this is possible. It is common for people to take a junk car and turn it into a pure electric for less than $5000. I think larger boats are out of the question. A lighter weight boat that is less than 20 feet might be possible. The range would be extremely limited with a pure electric, but a hybrid would be a cool project. If anyone would be interested in having a beer or soda and discuss collaborating on such a project, pm me.
Scabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-31-2010, 06:04 AM   #2
Sailfish

Default RE: Green Technology!

It is verifiable fact that it takes nearly, equal or more power resources dependent on fossil fuels to charge a battery bank than to just run a petro powered engine...

This "GREEN ENERGY" sham is nothing but a scam! Once folks buy into the "good" they are doing as individuals, they will be likely to support, endorse, or at least, not mind the "carbon footprint" taxation which will skyrocket all of our taxes and/or costs!

When you send voltage and amperage down a wire, those further downline will use more to make less than those right at the source... Ohms law and all the associated losses come into affect. Voltage drop and the like...

A battery charging system is a step down transformer (inherent losses) and every transistor and diode is additional loss...