Baitcaster Reel Recommendations? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Fishing Gear and Tackle > Rod Building and Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 09:18 PM   #1
Angler Management
Ruby Red Lip

Default Baitcaster Reel Recommendations?

Ok, so recently during my trip to Edisto Beach, SC my spinning reel on one of my poles kicked the bucket. Most likely because of the salt water.(I know stupid mistake). But I have found light in the situation, I have been putting off getting a baitcast reel for a while but I think I will now. I have never used a baitcaster before so I need something that will perform but also be foregiving to a newbie. Also I have a low budget being that im saving for a War Eagle Jon boat. So preferably like a shaekespere or soemthing of that lower price range.
Any suggestions?
Lucky 13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-27-2011, 10:19 PM   #2
Sailfish

I've got two or three Shimano Bantams around the shop. At least two are rebuilt and ready to go. I'd sell one for $20.00. $35 with rod. Abu Garcia 3600 ProMax for $55. Just finished an ultralight rod on a Shimano blank for this reel that I'll take $60 for (Pac Bay Minima eyes and reel seat).

Call or text Joe @ 516-2409.

"I fish and talk about Jesus"

Follow my Fishing Reel exploits through Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/pompanojoes.reelworks
Pompano Joe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 10:42 PM   #3
Ruby Red Lip

My setup includes a Daiwa Inshore Special baitcaster. It is extremely reliable and made to handle the harsh saltwater. Drag disks are coated in teflon to protect against salt and makes it extremely smooth. Casts a mile and has the power to pull in the bulls but enough finesse to fish for bass. At a price range around $120, definatley worth checking out.