What to watch for - help a newbie - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Kayak Forum > Kayak Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 09:30 PM   #1
Trigger

Default What to watch for - help a newbie

So I am new to this. I got the call that my big tuna will be here Wednesday so I am trying to learn a little bit. I will be fishing off the beach only in glassy conditions until I learn a little bit. That said, I know conditions can change n a hurry. So besides the big obvious storm cloud or increasing winds what do i need to look for that can indicate a dangerous situation or changes.

I have seen things about offshore winds and swells that grow closer together but not sure I understand it. Also is there anything in currents that would be harmful in an otherwise smooth day? Other things a newbie needs to know to stay upright and safe?

Many thanksgiving advance!
froglegs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2012, 04:43 AM   #2
Grouper

Well for me the biggest thing is launching through the surf and returning through the surf, its all about timing and how big the surf is. I go to swellinfo.com (i think thats it) and if the surf is bigger than 1.6 I will fish inshore, but thats me. I have learned that first thing in the morning I will paddle out into the wind and then let the wind help me back.

As far as safety while on the gulf, always where PFD, at least 3 signal flares (by law), whistle, saftey flag (optional), hand held VHF radio (optional) and use the BUDDY system. I would first do some inshore fishing and get used to the new kayak.
Enjoy and good luck
pompanopete is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2012, 06:18 AM   #3
Blue Marlin

Leaving A float plan with family or friends saying where your going and what to you expect to be back is a good idea.