What tanks to buy - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > Gear Reviews and Q&A

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2008, 12:28 AM   #1
Trigger

Default What tanks to buy

I was wondering what everyone thinks about owning your own tanks. Do you own steel or Aluminum? It seems to me that renting tanks can be the way to go. A couple bucks more than the fill cost. I am sure if you are mixing gas you want your own, But for me the newb renting seems to be the way to go.

And on another note. Remember I'm a newb to this and read as much as I can. What level of PADI certification is needed to get 21% EAN tanks?? I thought normal air we breath is 21% Oxygen 1% Misc and the rest Nitrogen. Is this because 21% EAN is certified amounts?? I think I answered my own question. But in OWS this was not talked about.

This is almost as bad as owning a boat. It is always something you need to buy. Bad part is I really like that the Wife enjoys it. Just buying everything for 2 has hurt the girl friend money. I sure do miss her!!!!!!:angel:banghead:angel:shedevil
ReelDuel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-06-2008, 01:49 AM   #2
Trigger

Default RE: What tanks to buy

Everyday air that you walk around and breath is nitrox. EAN 21% is air. God made a nitrox atmosphere for us to breathe, it's just not a good mix for diving if you want to stay down there without serious deco obligations.