Targeting AJ's - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2017, 11:46 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Targeting AJ's

Any trips or tricks for targeting AJ's. how far out are they? 5,10,15,20 miles ? I have a 22 CC w/150 yammy and on a calm day I feel comfortable going 15-20 miles out.
This is my first time targeting AJs so what's the best way to catch them. Live bait? Jigs? Frozen cigs? Hi/low rig? Knocker rig ? Thanks in advance.
W69DY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2017, 12:04 AM   #2
Ruby Red Lip

Found this on the ole interweb. Let me know if there's anything else I should know. Particularly public or maybeeee some private numbers ))

The best time to target amberjacks in my region is during the winter and spring and all the way into early June, when the cooler water temperatures bring the fish in close to shore. That doesn’t mean amberjack fishing in July isn’t outstanding, you just have to go out a lot deeper to catch them.

You’ll find the fish out on the metal wrecks--the big ships like the USS Oriskany, the Dolphin Hole and the Ozark Target Ship. Some of the deeper ledges will also hold fish, but the bigger schools will definitely be on the deeper wrecks in the area in anywhere from 200 to 350 feet of water.

You’ll typically mark the amberjacks on your bottom recorder sitting above and to one end of the wreck. Depending on your bottom machine, they may mark as one big blob or individual oval marks, but they’re usually 30 to 100 feet above the wreck. Mark the wreck and the fish, figure out the drift, then put your bow into the current and hold the boat in place by bumping the engines in and out of gear.