Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > General Discussion > Off Topic

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2010, 09:02 AM   #1
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
AUradar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,480
Default another Craigslist boat scam????

so, I saw this craiglist boat listing last night and emailed about it.

http://okaloosa.craigslist.org/boa/1643930257.html

basically, $3K for a 2007 18' keylargo with a 90HP yamaha on it.

Below is the reply. Sounds alwful scamish to me, but its good.

Thank you for your interest in my ad. I have recently divorced my wife, this
boat was a gift from me . I want you to know that the 2007 Key Largo 186 is
in excellent condition with no rust or any kind of damage anywhere. I'm
trying to get rid of it as soon as possible (that`s why I'm selling it so
cheap and I have some financial problems and like you know in these times
many people confront the financial crisis). Bellow you can find the options
and features of the boat together with more pictures.
Options:
. 2007 Yamaha 90HP 2 Stroke
. SELF BAILING DECK
. BATTERY COMPARTMENT
. AUTOMATIC <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_0 style="CURSOR: hand; BORDER-BOTTOM: #0066cc 1px dashed">BILGE PUMP
. NAVIGATION LIGHTS
. WATER RESISTANT SWITCH PANEL WITH <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_1>CIRCUIT BREAKERS
. STAINLESS BOW AND STERN EYES
. STAINLESS <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_2>STEERING WHEEL WITH COMFORT GRIP
. FIVE YEAR HULL WARRANTY
. BOW CASTING PLATFORM WITH STORAGE
. COOLER SEAT WITH REVERSIBLE <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_3 style="BACKGROUND: none transparent scroll repeat 0% 0%; CURSOR: hand; BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none">BACKREST
. FULL FOAM FLOTATION
. HEAVY DUTY COMMERCIAL RUB RAIL
. NATURAL WELL
. AERATED LIVEWELL
. TUNNEL FOR SHALLOW WATER USE
. EIGHT VERTICAL ROD HOLDERS
. STAINLESS CONSOLE GRAB RAIL
. STAINLESS GUNNEL RAILS
. TINTED WINDSHIELD
. NON SKID SPECKLE INTERIOR
. FOUR THROUGH BOLTED CLEATS


LIFETIME <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_4>TRANSOM, STRINGER &amp; FLOOR WARRANTY


Here is a link where you can find some pictures with this gorgeous boat:
<SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_5>http://cmd.shutterfly.com/commands/pictures/slideshow?site=keylargo186&amp;page=
keylargo186&amp;album=26

My asking price is $2900, I have no need for this boat and want to sell it
fast. The boat was left at a <SPAN class=yshortcuts id=lw_1268654183_6>shipping company in Pine Bluff, AR and it will
be shipped from there if necessary for inspection and test before we close
the deal. I really need to sell it ASAP as I am undergoing special military
training, getting ready to be shipped to Iraq.
Get back to me if you are interested in purchasing and we have a deal.
AUradar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
Trigger
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 286
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

I say yes, it's a scam.Email him &amp; see if he will call you.I've emailed about several I thought were too good to be true,trying to get them to call me &amp; they never will call.Like the old saying "if it sounds too good to be true it probably is".
CH-47 DR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Telum Pisces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,608
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

It is left at a shipping company is the biggest and first dead give away. Deal in person with cash only when it comes to craigslist. And do not give out any personal information before dealing in person either. Follow these two rules, and you will not be the victim of a scam.
Telum Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
AUradar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,480
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

yea,

1) to good to be true

2) shipping company

3) in arkansas

4) "special military training" and "about to be sent to iraq"

its a scam

mainly posted this here as a heads-up to others.
AUradar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:39 AM   #5
Like a roach in the dark!
Blue Marlin
 
Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the woods, lookin' fer ticks!
Posts: 5,157
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

Definitely a scam.....You should go back and flag it....
Jason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
Blue Marlin
 
Telum Pisces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,608
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

They are trying to scam you in every department these days. I am looking for a place to rent in Charleston and I had one guy want me to send him all my personal info in an email for an application. Then he would ship me the keys. These people are trying to scam everything under the sun. They really do go after the sucker that is born every minute.
Telum Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
bamasam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilsonville Alabama
Posts: 1,703
Send a message via ICQ to bamasam Send a message via AIM to bamasam Send a message via Yahoo to bamasam
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

Ask him what storage facility as you have a friend in Arkansas that can come look at it in person.
bamasam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
angus_cow_doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 2,097
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

I would email him, and say: "What a coincidence! I happen to be in Arkansas this week! When can I come see it???"

:takephoto
angus_cow_doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
White Marlin
 
Marine Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,755
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

Scam to me too!! :moon:moon:moon
Marine Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
Snapper
 
asago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 519
Send a message via AIM to asago Send a message via Yahoo to asago
Default RE: another Craigslist boat scam????

Quote:
angus_cow_doctor (3/15/2010)I would email him, and say: "What a coincidence! I happen to be in Arkansas this week! When can I come see it???"



:takephoto


Good idea...
__________________
Instant Help for Georgia & Florida Anglers!

georgiafishingbooks.com
panhandlefishingbooks.com





asago is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2